Cohort 5

Master Educator Fellows
2009-2010

Mohsen Akhlaghi, MD, FACEP, FAAEM
Director of International EM Program
Department of Emergency Medicine
mohsen.akhlaghi@jax.ufl.edu
Project: “Accuracy of ECG Interpretations by Emergency Medicine Residents and the Efficacy of Immediate Feedback by EM Attendings
Kfir Ben-David, MD
Assistant Professor
Deparment of Surgery
kfir.bendavid@surgery.ufl.edu
Project: “A Well-Structured, Timed Curriculum That Incorporates Simulated Laparoscopic Surgical Training Improves Resident Education and Passage of the FLS Exam
Jessica Feranec, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Surgery
jes.feranec@gmail.com
Project: Assessing Education Modalities For VA Primary Care Providers Who Care For Female Veterans
Glen R. Finney, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Neurology
finney@neurology.ufl.edu
Project: “Neurology Health Policy Curriculum
Linda Le-Wendling, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
lle@anest.ufl.edu
Project: “Assessment of a Web-Based Audio-Visual Module for the Education of New Residents in Acute Pain Management
Ayesha Mirza, MD, FAAP
Assistant Professor & Medical Director
Center for HIV/AIDS Research, Education and Service
ayesha.mirza@jax.ufl.edu
Project: “Utilization of a Healthcare Matrix Using Aims for Improvement & Core Competencies To Augment Resident Case Presentations & Assessment of Patient Care
Tom Morrissey, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Emergency Medicine
tom.morrissey@jax.ufl.edu
Project: “An integrated EM/IM “Introduction to Hospital Medicine” series: Results from 3 years of implementation
Michael Moser, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Orthopaedics
mosermw@ortho.ufl.edu
Project: “Measuring Acute Stress In Orthopedic Residents During Arthroscopy Electives: Does Pre-education Lead To Lower Anxiety Levels?
Patricia Moser, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Radiology
mosepp@radiology.ufl.edu
Project: “Assessment of a learning tool for first year radiology residents to aide in independent preparation for their transition from internship to radiology residency, specifically to body CT.
Richard J. Rogers, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
rrogers@anest.ufl.edu
Project: “Evaluation of a Computer-Based Educational Module for Improving Anesthesiology Resident Knowledge in Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia
Arwa Saidi, MD
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatrics
asaidi@ufl.edu
Project: “Web – based learning is an effective method for educating pediatric residents about transition to adult subspecialty congenital heart disease care
Sania Shuja, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Pathology
sania.shuja@jax.ufl.edu
Project: “Resident education in Quality Improvement: Exploring physician in-training and teaching faculty’s comprehension regarding Quality Improvement Processes
Ann Snyder, PharmD, BCPS
Clinical Assistant Professor
College of Pharmacy
snyder@cop.ufl.edu
Project: “SOAP Note / Written Documentation Needs Assessment and Course Methodology Evaluation for an On-line Course
Matthew Steele, MD
Assistant Professor
Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
matthew.steele@surgery.ufl.edu
Project: “The Effect of Extra-Departmental and Subspecialty Rotations on Medical Student NBME Exam Performance During the 3rd Year Surgery Clerkship
Sanjeev Tuli, MD, FAAP
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatrics
tulisy@peds.ufl.edu
Project: “Pediatric Resident Gender, Learning Styles and Temperaments And Their Relationship to Standardized Test Scores
Adam Wendling, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
awendling@anest.ufl.edu
Project: Measurement of the validity of virtual patients for training and assessment of junior anesthesiology residents
Gang Zheng, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
gzheng@anest.ufl.edu
Project: Transition to Practice (TTP): Small group teaching preparation for private practice in Anesthesiology